loal database will not deploy to Azure RRS feed

• Question

• User422192563 posted

Howdy Ya'll

I am new to Azure & have searched everywhere but cannot find an answer to this. I have a local MVC 5 app w/ simple database. I am using VS 2015 Community w/ all updates.

Problem: Using visual studio, my web app works perfectly in Azure, BUT my local database will not deploy. The db works perfect locally, but when I deploy, only the web app shows up...the database is not there in Azure. I get a generic message saying "There was an error processing your request". I have tried creating the db in Azure and connecting w/ no luck. Everything but the database deploys. Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks, everybody. Jeff

Thursday, May 12, 2016 12:47 AM

Answers

• User-491950272 posted

Make sure that your web app in Azure is connected to Azure SQL. You can check it by going to Web App Settings => Application Settings => Connection Strings and make sure that is available there. If not then add it and make them available using Environment Variables in Production.

Try to connect your Management Studio with your Azure SQL Db by providing the server name and password that you've configured while creating the database.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Thursday, May 12, 2016 7:31 AM

All replies

• User-491950272 posted

Make sure that your web app in Azure is connected to Azure SQL. You can check it by going to Web App Settings => Application Settings => Connection Strings and make sure that is available there. If not then add it and make them available using Environment Variables in Production.

Try to connect your Management Studio with your Azure SQL Db by providing the server name and password that you've configured while creating the database.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Thursday, May 12, 2016 7:31 AM
  • User-646145796 posted

Hi,

jpres

I have tried creating the db in Azure