locked
Blob Page - diactivating VHDs RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hello all,

    I have a question about blob VHDs.

    I have a VM with storage account attached. The VM is stopped and i'm still paying for the P30 Disks i had attached.
    If i break lease, will i continue to pay for the P30 disks?
    How can i stop paying for the p30 Disks since i don't use the VM and it's storage.

    Thanks in advance.
    PS:i'm new user of Azure services.

    Thursday, January 9, 2020 11:55 AM

All replies

  • Hello and welcome to Azure :)

    When VM is not running you are not paying for the computing resources, but you still pay for the storage it is using.

    If that is a system disk you will not be able to remove it without breaking tour VM. If you no longer need VM, you can remove it, that will also remove all it's resources and you will stop paying for it completely.

    If that is a data disk and you wish to remove it, then you can detach if and then remove it. To do that from Portal, you can follow these steps:

    • In the left menu, select Virtual Machines.
    • Select the virtual machine that has the data disk you want to detach and click Stop to de-allocate the VM.
    • In the virtual machine pane, select Disks.
    • At the top of the Disks pane, select Edit.
    • In the Disks pane, to the far right of the data disk that you would like to detach, click the  detach button.
    • After the disk has been removed, click Save on the top of the pane.
    • In the virtual machine pane, click Overview and then click the Start button at the top of the pane to restart the VM.

    The disk stays in storage but is no longer attached to a virtual machine.

    You can now go to your storage account and remove the disk.


    Please let me know if this helped or if you need any other assistance.

    Vukasin Terzic


    Thursday, January 9, 2020 3:19 PM
  • Hello and thank you for your response.

    I have deattached the data disks from the VM which i have stopped and de-allocated.

    although in the storage account of this VM at Storage Exploer(preview) option i can see them in th blob container at vhds option.

    Their status ara Active and the lease state is blank.
    Will i still pay for those two disks in the state they are now?
    Or to avoid any unwanted charge, i should delete them from here too?

    Thank you in advance.

    Friday, January 10, 2020 8:08 AM