none
Timeout Expired | Server Error | Query issues ? To Cache, or not to cache ? RRS feed

• Question

• Howdy! 
    I am working with an application that goes out from our server to grab data from a school's database and return a list of students for that particular school. I am having issues when I try to search for students by "@Lastname". The code base has been put together over the course of a decade and I just inherited it and all of its problems.
    I think that the query is asking a little too much of SQL and causing it to throw the exception. I am very new to how this is interacting with SQL and after doing some digging, I feel that cacheing the student data on our server on page load may be an ideal approach to this issue? Please correct me if I'm wrong! 
    Here is the Stack Trace Issue that I am given after the server times out:

Source Error:

Line 174:            GridView1.DataBind()
    Line 175:        Catch ex As Exception
    Line 176:            Throw ex
    Line 177:        Finally
    Line 178:            con.Close()

Stack Trace:

[Win32Exception (0x80004005): The wait operation timed out]

[SqlException (0x80131904): Timeout expired.  The timeout period elapsed prior to completion of the operation or the server is not responding.]
       Search.GetData() in C:\Users\User.Name\Desktop\Development\requestTool\FPSvII\FPS\RoutingServices\Search.aspx.vb:176
       Search.btnSearchView1_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e) in C:\Users\User.Name\Desktop\Development\requestTool\FPSvII\FPS\RoutingServices\Search.aspx.vb:117
       System.Web.UI.WebControls.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e) +11750641
       System.Web.UI.WebControls.Button.RaisePostBackEvent(String eventArgument) +150
       System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint) +6016

The GetData() Function:

Private Function GetData() As DataTable
            Dim dt As New DataTable()
            Dim cmd As New SqlCommand()