Dynamically change Entity Framework Connection String RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Everyone, 

I'm struggling to really set the connection string dynamically. I'm new to EF so this sort of things are consuming a lot of time for me.

I'm using VS2010, c#, WCF Ria and Silverlight 4. Depending on the connected user I want EF to access a different database. It is clear for me that I have two options now to achieve it:

1)override the CreateObjectContext method in the Domain Service (my problem here is that I do not know how to pass to this class the connectionstring -or something - that will help this class to figure out the database which I want it to connect to)

2) call the constructor of the context class that accepst the connection string (my problem here is that I do not see any call to this constructor so I do not know where should I make this call. While debugging, the trace jumps from the Domain Service CreateObjectMethod directly to the defualt Context constructor... but I could not even call it from that method)

So... could someone please give any hint?

Thanks in advance!

Monday, February 27, 2012 5:21 PM

Answers

• Hi nereo;

Not being a Silverlight developer I had to do a little research. I believe the following addition to the SampleDomainService class by overriding CreateObjectContext will do what is needed.

[EnableClientAccess()]
    public class SampleDomainService : LinqToEntitiesDomainService<SampleEntities>
    {

// TODO:
        // Consider constraining the results of your query method.  If you need additional input you can
        // add parameters to this method or create additional query methods with different names.
        // To support paging you will need to add ordering to the 'articulos' query.
        public IQueryable<articulos> GetArticulos()
        {
            return this.ObjectContext.articulos;
        }

protected override SampleEntities CreateObjectContext( )
        {