none
WinCE 6.0 USB Device Driver RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to USB drivers. I am writing WinCE USB Device Driver to handle Bulk transfers ( My WinCE IMX51 EVK board should act as a USB Device and connect with USB Host). I am using OTG available on EVK. After refferring Microsoft documentation, I got to know that I need to write USB Function clilent driver. Below I presented my approach. Is it correct approach or is there any better approach?

1. Implement USB Stream Interface driver. It loads at builtin time. Say its prefix "UND:". As I am porting WinCE 5.0 driver to WinCE 6.0 I should retain previous stream Interface Driver.

2. In Init do below steps. I reffered USB RNDIS Function driver for below steps.

// Setup the MDD/PDD interface structures
        g_mddInterface.dwVersion = 1;
        g_mddInterface.pfnNotify = HandlePDDNotification;
        memset( &g_pddInterface, 0, sizeof(g_pddInterface) );
        g_pddInterface.dwVersion = 1;

// Initialize our internal receive buffer markers
        g_RecvBufferHead = g_RecvBufferTail = 0;

if( UfnPdd_Init( NULL, (PVOID)0xdeadbeef, &g_mddInterface, &g_pddInterface ) != ERROR_SUCCESS )
        {
            OALMSG(OAL_ERROR, (L"UfnPdd_Init failed!"));
            return FALSE;
        }

HandleUSBDeviceRegistration();

// Setup complete, Attach device to USB bus
        g_pddInterface.pfnStart( g_pddInterface.pvPddContext );

3.  Using UND_Write and UND_Read do IO operations.

Regards,
    Kiran

kiran reddy
    Wednesday, May 11, 2011 4:35 AM

All replies

• Hi Kiran Reddy,

If I understood correctly you are planning to write a USB Function Driver.

The terminology that you have used looks confusing for me.

Please refer the following URL for the USB Terminology http://geekswithblogs.net/BruceEitman/archive/2009/04/08/windows-ce-usb-basics.aspx