Duplicate Checking using a rules engine RRS feed

• Question

• Hi There,

I am currently looking at using the WF3 rules engine within a WF4 workflow.

One of the business requirements we need to model is duplicate checking.

I am kind of new to rules engines/workflows so you may have to bear with me.

If I had a rule that involved finding duplicate invoices based on certain criteria how would I model that rule?

One of my concerns is how would the rules engine process the invoices to find if the duplicate rule applied especially in the case of large numbers of invoices?

Would I need write a custom expression?

Cheers

Tuesday, November 30, 2010 3:27 PM

All replies

• Rules work by taking a single object and evaluating it against certain conditions, such as "If Price > 50 Then DiscountLevel = 10%". Rules can be made to operate over collections of data, and that is described here:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa349356(VS.90).aspx

I am not sure if that matches what you need; could you give a short walkthrough of the type of rule processing that you need?

Thanks,

Steve Danielson [Microsoft]
    This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    Use of included script samples are subject to the terms specified at http://www.microsoft.com/info/cpyright.htm

Tuesday, November 30, 2010 10:55 PM
  • An example would be Invoice processing and in particular a requirement to check all invoices received for a customer for a duplicate on a certain match key say order type and order date.

From what I have seen so far, you can pass into the rules engine an object which could contain a collection. That collection could be the list of previous invoices for a customer.

As the collection is available in rules object I should be able to write rules against it,

along the lines of(this is just pseudo code and I am making it up but hope you get the idea)

for each PreviousOrder within the PreviousOrderCollection