Connect SharePoint List view to SSMS RRS feed

• Question

• Hi ,

I need your help to install SSIS/SSRS in SSMS

I have connected the SharePoint list view to excel for reporting purpose but due to data size the performances is very slow in excel and now I would like to connect the SharePoint List to SSIS/SSRS

I have windows 8, 64 bit system

I have installed SQL Server Management studio 2012 but I am unable to enable the Integration and Reporting Services

may be I have missed to choose the option during installation, I am not technical strong person so could you please advise in layman language to add SSIS/SSRS feature to existing SSMS

Monday, August 31, 2015 2:53 PM

Answers

• Hi 5Ant,

SSMS is a "SQLServer management studio" tool. Obviously it cannot be used to mange SharePoint because SharePoint is not meant to be managed via SQL tools.

> nd work with them as if they were tables.  

SharePoint lists are NOT tables. 

SharePoint Lists are comprised of 1 or many "content types". each content type has multiple columns. Content types can be used across 1 or many lists.

Do not design a solution on SharePoint thinking that you are working on a database. you will repent it. its not a DB. 

nd I'd be amazed if lists aren't stored interally as tables. 

List data is stored internal SharePoint tables... but Lists themselves don't become independent tables.

Please Dont forget to mark as answer and Helpful Post. It helps others to find relevant posts to the same question. Milan Das

• Marked as answer by 5Ant Tuesday, September 1, 2015 3:04 PM
    Monday, August 31, 2015 3:11 PM
  • Hi 5Ant,