Cannot get SQLClient catch to work at catching exception RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to csharp.  I have some code that is working, but want to start working on exception handling.
    using System.Data.SqlClient;

The first thing I am trying to trap for is if the SQL server is down, but the Catch just won't work.. I can't figure out why ... Any clues ?

SqlConnection conn = null;
            SqlCommand cmd = null;
            SqlDataReader rdr = null;

try
            {
              // Open the connection and create a SQL command
              // TODO : I am having problems CATCHING the error here

conn = new SqlConnection(connectString);
              conn.Open();

}

catch (SqlException ex)
            {
              string str;
              str = "Source:" + ex.Source;
              str += "\n" + "Message:" + ex.Message;
              Console.WriteLine(str, "Database Exception");
            }

When it hits conn.open(); and the server is running, life is good.

If the server is down, it does not catch the exception but instead comes to the standard error trapping.. .It's driving me nuts, because the error message from vs actually says it's coming from

{System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException}

Any clues ?

Sunday, October 3, 2010 5:52 PM

Answers

• My guess on what's happening?  You're running this in the debugger, right?  So you're getting a 'first-chance' exception, and the code is stopping there, because Visual Studio is configured to immediately stop on First-Chance exceptions.

Try this:  Click on Debug->Exceptions

In the window that pops up, you should see a list of exception types, and two columns of check-boxes: Thrown and User-Handled.

I'm guessing that, under the "Common Language Runtime Exceptions", both the Thrown and User Handled check-boxes are checked.

You can do one of two things: 

1. Set a breakpoint on your exception handler hit F5 (Continue) when that exception occurs, and your BP should be hit.