How To Get Lat-Long From Geography Data Type RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to SQL 2008 and it's new data types. I have need to store latitude and longitude for locations, which I have previously done using two fields of float data type. However, I'm designing the next version of our database and would like to convert over to the new geography data type.

I have found an article here on how to convert and store the latitude and longitude data that I have as geography, but if I'm going to do this, I will need to know how to extract latitude and longitude from the geography data type value for future reference. How do I do this? For example, say I have a column called "GeoLoc" as a geography data type. The article above says I do this to put the convert and store the latitude and longitude in the field.

UPDATE	Table1
    SET	[GeoLoc] = geography::Parse('POINT(' + CAST([Longitude] AS VARCHAR(20)) + ' ' + 
                        CAST([Latitude] AS VARCHAR(20)) + ')')
    How do I then select it back out as a latitude and longitude? Something like this?

Select	GeoLoc.Latitude,
    	GeoLoc.Longitude
    From	Table1

Nathon Dalton .NET Software Developer
    Monday, December 14, 2009 7:47 PM

Answers

• Something like this?
    Select
    	GeoLoc.Latitude,
    	GeoLoc.Longitude
    From
    	Table1

Very close.... something like this:
    SELECT
      GeoLoc.Lat,
      GeoLoc.Long
    FROM
      Table1

Beginning Spatial with SQL Server http://www.apress.com/book/view/1430218290
    • Marked as answer by Nathon Dalton Monday, December 14, 2009 9:13 PM
    Monday, December 14, 2009 8:47 PM
    Answerer

All replies

• Something like this?
    Select
    	GeoLoc.Latitude,
    	GeoLoc.Longitude
    From
    	Table1

Very close.... something like this:
    SELECT
      GeoLoc.Lat,
      GeoLoc.Long
    FROM
      Table1

• Marked as answer by Nathon Dalton Monday, December 14, 2009 9:13 PM
    Monday, December 14, 2009 8:47 PM
    Answerer