implementing drag/drop for windows 8 touch devices using html/js

Question

• I am trying to implement drag/drop on windows 8 app using html and javascript. I have a div rectangle box which I want to drag to another rectangle box and drop it there.

It's my first time developing windows 8 app. Is there any sample code you can point me to ? or some tips on how to do it.

Friday, June 28, 2013 3:21 PM

All replies

• I can't find any samples yet but hopefully this will help you as a guideline:

Guidelines for cross-slide (Windows Store apps)
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/apps/hh465299.aspx

User interaction: Touch input... and beyond
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/apps/dn263203.aspx

Hope this helps.

Cristhian

Cristhian Uribe

Saturday, June 29, 2013 1:06 AM
  • Hi,

There is a native HTML5 drag & drop support you can use.

First, define which elements are draggable, to those, assign a draggable="true" atribute, for example:

<div class="draggableDivs" style=";top:0px;left:0px;z-index:1;width:100px;height:100px;background-color:red;" draggable="true"></div>

This by itself will let you drag the div but won't have any drop logic.

Then, we define where can we drop it, if its a given container or the whole document, in the App I made, was the whole document page, and we use this code (I used it inside a Page Control on a Navigator templated App):

ready: function (element, options) {
    var that = this;
    var cols = element.querySelectorAll(".draggableDivs");
    /*select all the draggable elements, I used a class, you can use whatever logic you want */
    [].forEach.call(cols, function (col) {
    /* add the dragstart handler */
    col.addEventListener("dragstart", that.handleDragStart, false);

});

var cancel = function (event) {
    if (event.preventDefault) {
    event.preventDefault();
    }
    return false;
    }