Error 10013 attempting to connect to SOAP web service from Windows 8 client app RRS feed

• Question

• I have used Visual studio 2003, 2008 and 2010 for years to make clients to SOAP web services using web
     references. I am now trying to make a Windows 8 XAML client using VS2012. The
     service reference has no trouble connecting to the web service and it creates all
     the objects successfully. But when I run the app and try to connect to the web
     service, it throws an error "There was no endpoint listening at...",
     and the inner exception is "An attempt was made to access a socket in a
     way forbidden by its access permissions" with SocketErrorCode 10013
     (Access Denied). Now since the service reference created all the objects, it
     obviously was able to retrieve the WSDL from the service. What am I doing
     wrong? I'm also new to async functions, so maybe I'm doing that wrong?

I run VS2012 As Adminsitrator, so I don't think the account permissions is a problem.

Note also that I do not use WCF to create the web services; they are all standard SOAP services, which I connect to using a Web Reference in earlier versions of Vsual Studio. 

Code:

' Service reference is MyTestSvc
     Dim MySvcClient As New MyTestSvc.MyServiceSoapClient()
     Dim req As New MyTestSvc.UserReq
     Dim resp As New MyTestSvc.UserRequestResponse
     req.username = “Test”
     req.password = “Test”
     Try
      Dim respTask As Task(Of MyTestSvc.UserInfoRequestResponse) = MySvcClient.GetUserInfo(req)
      resp = Await respTask
      Return True
     Catch ex As Exception
      Return False
     End Try

Davesemm

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 7:35 AM

Answers

• Ok, I have gotten around the problem, but need an explanation: I replaced the server name with its IP address, and it works perfectly!