The server principal "xxxxxx" is not able to access the database "Dataxxxxx" under the current security context. RRS feed

• Question

• I have seen numerous post regarding this error and none of the solutions seem to work.  I'm gettting a little frustrated.  Server is Running Windwos 2008 R2 SQL 2008R2 RTM, I tried with SP1 as well.

I receive the following error running a SQL Job:

The server principal "xxxxxxx" is not able to access the database "Dataxxxxx" under the current security context. [SQLSTATE 42000] (Error 50000)

I've tried local accounts, Domain accounts.  Granting db_owner to the account on the Dataxxxxx database but still nothing is working.

I'm a SQL Newbie so please be as laymanesque as possible.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 3:01 PM

Answers

• The Account is NOT locked out.  I granted the account Admin privledges and logged into the server with that account and attempted to run the jobs - Still Failed.

I've give the account DB_owner rights to the DB's (the one that contains the stored procedures and the one I'm attempting to update) - Still Failed.

I changed the owner to the service account that runs SQL (also has the db_owner on the DB's) - Still Failed.

Got it working.  It was odd and I don't quite understand why.  I removed the service account from the "Run as user" line in the advanced settings of the "Job Step Properties"   The job has run successfully every hour since Friday night.

Monday, January 7, 2013 1:31 PM
  • Apparently this job makes access to other databases. When you impersonate a databaser user, you are sandboxed into the the current database. The sandbox can be opened, but this leads to security issues. If you have no good reason to use this Run as User, it should not be there.

(I knew all the time that the error was due to impersonation, but I did not know where it happned, and in the screen shot you posted Run as User was blank.)

Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, esquel@sommarskog.se
    Monday, January 7, 2013 10:45 PM