Stored Procedure to Insert Records into a junction table (Many to Many Relationship) RRS feed

• Question

• User-1352156089 posted

Hi All,

I am quite new to SQL and I am wondering how to insert records into a  junction table named RateRoomTypeCombination.

Here is what I am trying to achieve:

I have 3 tables:

RoomType (RoomTypeId, RoomName)

RateType (RateTypeId, RateTypeName)

RateRoomTypeCombination (RateRoomTypeCombinationId, RoomTypeId, RateTypeId)

I am adding the RoomName in page 1.

In page 2 I am feeding a checkboxlist with both the RoomName text and values and  I have  a Textbox that I use to insert the RateTypeName into the RateType table. 

Before clicking on the Create RatePlanName button I need to select the RoomName from the checkboxlist previously created and what I would like to understand is how to add the RoomTypeId, RateTypeId into the junction table named RateRoomTypeCombination.

This the Stored Procedure that I have done so far:

USE [MyDB]
    GO
    SET ANSI_NULLS ON
    GO
    SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON
    GO
    CREATE PROCEDURE [dbo].[spAddRateTypeAndRoomtareCombination_UsingExists]
    (
         @RatePlanName nvarchar(50),
    	 @OpenFrom date,
    	 @OpenTo date,
    	 @Active bit,
    	 @RateTypeId int,
    	 @RoomTypeId int
    	 )
    AS
    DECLARE @Result int
    BEGIN TRANSACTION
    IF EXISTS
    (
          SELECT
                NULL
          FROM
                dbo.RateType WITH (UPDLOCK)
          WHERE
                RatePlanName= @RatePlanName
    ) 
          BEGIN
                SELECT @Result = -1
          END
    ELSE
          BEGIN
                INSERT INTO
                      dbo.RateType
                (
                      RatePlanName,
    				  OpenFrom,	 OpenTo, Active
                    )
                VALUES
                (
                       @RatePlanName,
    				  @OpenFrom,	 @OpenTo, @Active
                )