VS2012 -MVC4 Intranet App publish using File System RRS feed

• Question

• User-1228885670 posted

Hi, I am pretty new to publish using VS2012, have done in the past only for web form based applications.

My Environment: VS2012, .NET 4.0, MVC4 Intranet app with connection to SQL 2008 in web.config(remote server).

I am trying to publish MVC4 intranet app using VS2012 to a remote server Win2008 within our Network.

And the remote server has IIS7.0, Using IIS7.0 on the server : I have created an application on IIS (remote server) that points to the physical location of my project (In my case: c://inetpub/wwwroot/Intranetapp. App pool pointing to v4.0-Integrated mode.

Problem:

For security reasons, I cant deploy web platform installer on the remote server and unable to publish the application from my local machine using VS2012-web deploy option.

Resolution: Please suggest if i can publish my MVC4 app using 'File System' option in VS2012?

If so can someone please send me the links or notes on the steps?

And how to access the url of the app once published using 'File System'.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Monday, June 23, 2014 10:34 AM

Answers

• User-1228885670 posted

Thanks Angie for the reply.

Apologize if my question was not clear enough.

But i found answer for my question.

In Visual Studio 2012 there is an option called 'FileSystem', along with other options: web deploy, web deploy package, FTP, FPSE while publishing the project.

When you select 'File System' , we need to make sure the path where the project is published is the same as the physical path of the application/website under IIS manager.

On the remote server the App pool has to be v4.0 integrated mode, in my case.

And windows authenticated since my app is Intranet app, thats all.

Since web deploy method of publish dint work i had to choose this one.

Any questions let me know.

PS: I am not sure how to close this post in the forums. can some one tell me.