locked
How to change the Library Location RRS feed

  • Question

  • Just more frustrations with MS's "improved" help system.. I need to change the Help Library Manager's Library Location, but can find nothing that explains how to do this short of unistalling Visual Studio 2010. Is that my only option?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.


    PDH
    Thursday, April 28, 2011 1:24 PM

Answers

  • Hi Konrad

    You are nearly there. You must also modify the master queryManifest.*.xml file to make this work. 

    How to move the Help Library for VS 2010

    1.  Shutdown "Help Library Agent" tray application (right click the icon and select "Exit")

    2.  To find the current path of the help library store either:
    - Run Help Library Manager (via “Help > Manager Help Settings” menu in VS 2010) and click "Choose online or local help".
    - Or look at registry value "LocalStore=" in HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Help\V1.0\

    3.  Move the help library store to the new location.

    4.  Update the registry value "LocalStore=" in HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Help\V1.0\ with the new path.

    5.  Open <HelpLibraryPath>\manifest\queryManifest.??.xml in notepad and rename all occurrences of the old help path to the new path.

    I've tested this a few times and had no problems. This did not come from Microsoft.

    How to Reset Help

    Note that you can blow away (delete) your Library folder at any time. So here is how to reset help if you need to:

    1. Kill off Agent tray app. Delete your library folder and all content under it. 
    2. Now edit the file C:\Program Files\Microsoft Help Viewer\v1.0\HelpLibManager.exe.config 
      and set...<add key="FirstTimeRun" value="True" /> 

    Next time you run Help Library Manager you will be prompted for a new library location (accept the default or enter a new path).

    Install New Help Content

    Now run Help Library Manager to install new help content.

    If you have a VS 2010 install DVD click "Install content from disk" and browser to the "\Product Documentation" folder on your VS install DVD. If you are using VS 2010 Express (and don't have a DVD) click "Install content from online".

    Once installation has completed click "Check for updates online" to get the latest revisions of help.

     


    Rob Chandler Help MVP http://Helpware.net/ http://mshcmigrate.helpmvp.com/
    Friday, April 29, 2011 6:52 AM
    Moderator

All replies

  • Hi,

    what could be worth a try is:

    - make sure, that the help library agent is not running.

    - move the help content where you want it (the default on Windows7 is something like c:\ProgramData\Microsoft\HelpLibrary\)

    - Modify HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Help\V1.0\LocalStore to point to the new location

    - Test propery - I never tested this procedure. But from my understanding so far this could already work.

    With kind regards,

    Konrad

    Friday, April 29, 2011 4:38 AM
    Moderator
  • Hi Konrad

    You are nearly there. You must also modify the master queryManifest.*.xml file to make this work. 

    How to move the Help Library for VS 2010

    1.  Shutdown "Help Library Agent" tray application (right click the icon and select "Exit")

    2.  To find the current path of the help library store either:
    - Run Help Library Manager (via “Help > Manager Help Settings” menu in VS 2010) and click "Choose online or local help".
    - Or look at registry value "LocalStore=" in HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Help\V1.0\

    3.  Move the help library store to the new location.

    4.  Update the registry value "LocalStore=" in HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Help\V1.0\ with the new path.

    5.  Open <HelpLibraryPath>\manifest\queryManifest.??.xml in notepad and rename all occurrences of the old help path to the new path.

    I've tested this a few times and had no problems. This did not come from Microsoft.

    How to Reset Help

    Note that you can blow away (delete) your Library folder at any time. So here is how to reset help if you need to:

    1. Kill off Agent tray app. Delete your library folder and all content under it. 
    2. Now edit the file C:\Program Files\Microsoft Help Viewer\v1.0\HelpLibManager.exe.config 
      and set...<add key="FirstTimeRun" value="True" /> 

    Next time you run Help Library Manager you will be prompted for a new library location (accept the default or enter a new path).

    Install New Help Content

    Now run Help Library Manager to install new help content.

    If you have a VS 2010 install DVD click "Install content from disk" and browser to the "\Product Documentation" folder on your VS install DVD. If you are using VS 2010 Express (and don't have a DVD) click "Install content from online".

    Once installation has completed click "Check for updates online" to get the latest revisions of help.

     


    Rob Chandler Help MVP http://Helpware.net/ http://mshcmigrate.helpmvp.com/
    Friday, April 29, 2011 6:52 AM
    Moderator
  • Hi Rob!

    Ahh ... I missed that file but so far I never tried to move the help.

    When I played around with the Help System, I found out, that the Help Library Manager asked for the help location (and created the required files) when the LocalStore Key was removed. But setting the FirstTimeRun Key sounds much cleaner than playing around in the Registry! (There was someone with a problem where the help location got deleted or so and I think that solved his issue. Not 100% sure)

    But the main reason for my reply: Wouldn't that nice answer be a good entry in your blog? Or is it already part of your blog?

    With kind regards,

    Konrad

    Friday, April 29, 2011 8:37 AM
    Moderator
  • Good idea! Thanks Konrad.


    Rob Chandler Help MVP http://Helpware.net/ http://mshcmigrate.helpmvp.com/
    Friday, April 29, 2011 11:55 AM
    Moderator
  • Hi Mr.Rob,

     

        First of All thanx for the information provided by you, I tried as per your suggestion and changed HelpLibManager.exe.Config file and when i ran the Help Library Manager it asked me for the location to store the Help Data I gave the Location as F:\Visual Studio\HelpLibrary and when i tried to Install New Content downloaded using HelpLibraryDownloader.exe it gave me error while adding .Net Framework3.5 help files as shown in Image.Can you please tell me where m going wrong.

    Saturday, October 15, 2011 5:52 AM
  • I've never seen a problem with using "FirstTimeRun".

    Of course it would cause a problem if you gave it a protected location or use a path containing problem characters such as '#'.

    But your path looks ok so I think there may be a problem with the install XML produced by HelpLibraryDownloader.exe.

    I've only had a few problems with the downloader mostly it works OK. Have a look though the .msha and xml files it produces. Maybe you will find a small problem you can correct.

    Rob


    Rob Chandler Help MVP http://Helpware.net/ http://mshcmigrate.helpmvp.com/
    Saturday, October 15, 2011 1:38 PM
    Moderator
  • This is REALLY a sad state-of-affairs |  kinda reminds me of the republican fiasco....
    Saturday, March 31, 2012 4:35 PM
  • Hi Rob,

    I am  trying  to follow your "How to Reset Help" suggestion.

    Sorry to ask, but where is the "Agent tray app" in order to kill it?

    Thanks a lot

    Saverio

    Saturday, May 12, 2012 3:50 PM
  • Hi Saverio

    The HelpLibAgent tray app appears when you run VS 2010 help.


    Right click and select "Exit" to shut it down. If it's not running then no need to do anything.


    Rob


    Rob Chandler Help MVP http://Helpware.net/ http://mshcmigrate.helpmvp.com/

    • Proposed as answer by Volodimir2 Monday, November 26, 2012 4:21 PM
    Sunday, May 13, 2012 9:31 AM
    Moderator