custom rendering of components RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to XAML an c# but i have some experience in Java Swing. I have VS-2012 for windows 8 that makes the development of apps easy but i want to know how i can get full control of rendering some components, like in java one has to extend JPanel and provide the rendering code in paintComponent().How can i do something related in XAML where UI and logic is so much separated?
    Sunday, November 18, 2012 9:42 AM

Answers

• Hi Pankaj,

What project did you create? Did you want to learn wpf?

Here is an Introduction to WPF you can refer to:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa970268.aspx

If you have any concerns about this issue, please feel free to us know.

Best regards,

Ego [MSFT]
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us

• Marked as answer by Ego Jiang Tuesday, November 27, 2012 9:57 AM
    Monday, November 19, 2012 8:12 AM
  • This isn't really related to VS extensibility. In short you rarely should have to override custom painting in WPF, instead you apply styles or templates. If you DO have to do custom painting then you would override UIElement.OnRender. That said I have written a fair amount of WPF code and have VERY rarely needed to override OnRender, you shouldn't jump to that as your first solution.

Ryan

Monday, November 19, 2012 8:39 PM

All replies

• Hi Pankaj,

What project did you create? Did you want to learn wpf?

Here is an Introduction to WPF you can refer to:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa970268.aspx

If you have any concerns about this issue, please feel free to us know.

Best regards,

Ego [MSFT]
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us

Monday, November 19, 2012 8:12 AM