Cannot Open Database. Login Failed. RRS feed

• Question

• I am a newbie in sql server and i am creating a web application using VB.NET

I have a button that when i click it will open the database. Heres the code:

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click

Dim sqlConnect As New SqlConnection("integrated security=SSPI;data source=(local)\SQLEXPRESS;persist security info=False;initial catalog = CorporateDB;")

sqlConnect.Open()

End Sub

the problem is when i clicked the button an error will show:

Cannot open database "CorporateDB" requested by the login. The login failed. Login failed for user 'TRANSLTR\ASPNET'.

The CorporateDB is the database. And i don't know where did i got this user 'TRANSLTR/ASPNET' My computer name is Transltr but not 'TRANSLTR/ASPNET'.

I tried using this connection string in creating windows application in VS.NET. It works fine. What did i missed here. Please i need your help.

Tuesday, May 8, 2007 3:56 PM

Answers

• ASPNET = Windows Authentication. You need to configure a generic SQL Authentication or use your own. Either way you have to change your connection string to the following format:

Data Source=ServerName;Initial Catalog=DataBaseName3;UId=UserLoginName;Password=Password;Trusted_Connection=False"

You can also use impersonation in the your web.config file. It's up to you.

Adamus

Tuesday, May 8, 2007 4:02 PM

All replies

• ASPNET = Windows Authentication. You need to configure a generic SQL Authentication or use your own. Either way you have to change your connection string to the following format:

Data Source=ServerName;Initial Catalog=DataBaseName3;UId=UserLoginName;Password=Password;Trusted_Connection=False"

You can also use impersonation in the your web.config file. It's up to you.

Adamus

Tuesday, May 8, 2007 4:02 PM
  • Can you show me the steps on:

1. How can i configure a generic SQL Authentication

2. using inpersonation web.config