Brand new domain controller RRS feed

• Question

• Greetings,

I'm new to Azure and am experimenting with it - building a few virtual machines and creating a virtual network I can use to learn more about IIS and powershell without impacting my own network at work.  The server platform I chose was Server 2012 R2 Datacenter.
    I used the 'quick create' option within my trial of Azure.  The machines were created on my test domain; I've installed the Active Directory services on the machine that will be my domain controller.  This will be the first DC in the domain.  After installing the Active Directory services (and necessary features), I now am trying to promote the server to a DC and get this message:
    "Active Directory domain controller for domain "My Domain" could not be contacted.  Ensure you supplied the correct DNS domain name"

How do I promote the VM to be my domain controller?  Is there some DC in Azure that I need to somehow point to?  Do I need to scrap these machines and start over and not use the 'quick create' option?

Tuesday, November 18, 2014 10:47 PM

Answers

• I likewise installed ADDS via Server Manager and the role and features installed without issue.  Where I was having the problem was trying to promote the server to a domain controller.  
    After I installed ADDS, a notice appeared at the top of the server manager window.  When I clicked on the triangle with the exclamation point in it, a message with a link was there stating 'post-installation tasks' were waiting and the link said 'promote this server to a domain controller'
    I kept getting the error noted at the top of this thread whenever I used the link that was in the the notification so I continued to research this issue.