none
Barcode and barcode scanner in access 2013 RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everybody,
    I'm about to start my small business in order to survive in this world.  I need tips about :
    1- how to create barcodes  ?
    2- How to connect barcode scanner to Microsoft access (2013)?
    3- How to make barcode scanner read the codes ?
    4- What is the best barcode scanner that I can deal with ?

Please feed me some knowledge from your experience in steps. I'm very new with using barcode. 
    Many thanks in advance

• Edited by AlefAelol Wednesday, September 16, 2015 7:39 PM
    Wednesday, September 16, 2015 7:38 PM

Answers

• Hello AlefAelol:

Without knowing how your application works, I'm not sure what you mean when you say "does each barcode or code refers to one item in  my database?".  If your barcode refers to the primary key in one of your tables, then yes, a barcode would refer to one table record in your database.  But barcodes are used for many purposes.  At one of my past clients, they used barcodes on orders, so that when the order was entered, they didn't have to key in the order number... they just scanned it.

It is also used in most grocery markets, where the barcode is scanned at the register.  In that case, you can see it is not unique, and is just part of a sales record in which the same product is sold multiple times each day.

Think of a barcode as just a "shortcut" to prevent the need to key in data... really nothing more or less.  It identifies a physical object, and that code is used to set pricing, set inventory levels, etc.

Rich Locus, Logicwurks, LLC

http://www.logicwurks.com

• Marked as answer by AlefAelol Thursday, September 17, 2015 10:45 AM
    Thursday, September 17, 2015 4:53 AM

All replies

• Hello!