none
[COM] Find folder path for a public folder, given an SMTP address RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to COM development, and Outlook in general, so please excuse my ignorance...

I am trying to find out how to obtain a folder object for the delivery folder of a Public Folder.

So say for example in Exchange, if you have a PF called "MyPF" with the path set to "\MyPF" and the email address set to "MyPF@MyDomain.com"

In outlook, the folder structure for the PF would appear like:

Public Folders - <username>
     +- All Public Folders
      +- MyPF
    So, what i would like is some way, via COM, to craft a function that if you pass it "MyPF@MyDomain.com" would return the COM object for the folder "Public Folders\All Public Folders\MyPF"

Ideally, this code should be compatible with Outlook 2007 through 2016, and using C#.

Friday, December 11, 2015 2:24 PM

All replies

• Hello Clive,

You can use the GetDefaultFolder method of the Namespace class. Just pass the olPublicFoldersAllPublicFolders value to get the All Public Folders folder in the Exchange Public Folders store. Then you can navigate through the tree of folders and find yours. For example, you can use the Folders property of the Folder class which returns the Folders collection that represents all the folders contained in the specified Folder. See How to: Enumerate Folders for the sample code.

Friday, December 11, 2015 3:13 PM
  • Thanks Eugene,

I do not see how to get a *folder name* from the SMTP address of a public folder.

If you know what the folder name is, then yes, you can find it in this way, but if all the code has is an SMTP address, then I cannot work out what the correct folder is when I am iterating the "All Public Folders" folder.

To clarify, the ONLY information that the code has is the SMTP address.

So I need to be able to resolve "MyPF@MyDomain.com" to "MyPF".

The code then iterates "All Public Folders" until it finds "MyPF".

Friday, December 11, 2015 5:37 PM
  • Hi Clive