none
Windows form application on Oracle RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am quite new to .net. I have been working with Oracle database since I graduated from University. I am currently planning my company’s first .net project which needs to use Oracle as backend database and windows form as front-end. C# is my preferred language and I have done a course plus some self-study so I understand the language concept. Before we start writing a project plan I have a few questions, I would appreciate greatly if you can shed some lights for me.

The application we are trying to delivery is not complex at all, however even small project I want to do it in a right way.

1. I am hoping to have 3-tier architecture but I am also conscious about the time scale, we have relative tight deadline to meet. As an Oracle DBA, I am able to produce packages, store procedures, functions pretty quickly in Oracle. So I think I can write data access layer manually. But I am not sure if I can still take the advantages of dataset Class.

2. If I choose to use DataSet, does it mean I can’t write any PL/SQL code in Oracle. Just had a quick look at the DataSet designer which doesn’t seem to accept any store procedures or functions import from Oracle. Should I try to avoid using DataSet designer to gain more controls?

3. The project requires a lot bulk insert/update. We need to provide some tabular data form interfaces which allow users to update multiple rows of records (probably in disconnected mode, our users used to do this in excel) and submit only once. How can we manage the concurrency? I believe DataSet using optimistic locking mechanism can manage this for us. Does that mean I will be losing the control of my code?