Problem with data refreshing after insert or update statement RRS feed

• Question

• Dear All,

Im using VS2008, visual basic and SQL Server express.

General questions please: Is it necessary, to issue some sort of command, to 'commit' data to a SQL express database after a INSERT or UPDATE sql command?

I'm getting strange behavior where the data is not refreshed unless i exit my app and re-enter. In other words, i can run a sql command , the data is apparantly saved (because i get no errors) then if i refresh a data set or do a sql select query the data that i expect to return is not there.

Im fairly new to SQL express (and SQL server generally) so i dont know if its my coding or i need to switch some 'feature'

on/off or not.

I hope thats clear

Also, could someone point me to documentation that explains each parameter in the connection string

Many Thanks

Chris Anderson

My code is:

ConnectionString = "Data Source=.\SQLEXPRESS;AttachDbFilename=C:\myfile.mdf;Integrated Security=True;Connect Timeout=30;User Instance=True"

Connection = New SqlConnection

Connection.ConnectionString = ConnectionString

Connection.Open()

'''''''''''''''''the above code is done at the start of my application

'''''''this code below called during application many times

dim sql as string = "my sql string here"

Dim cmd As SqlCommand = Nothing

cmd = New SqlCommand(sql, Connection)

Try

cmd.ExecuteNonQuery()

Catch err As SqlException

MessageBox.Show(err.Message.ToString())

MessageBox.Show(sql, "SQL ERROR: ", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Error)

End Try

cmd.Dispose()

Tuesday, March 18, 2008 10:07 PM

Answers

• hi,

chrisanderson wrote:

General questions please: Is it necessary, to issue some sort of command, to 'commit' data to a SQL express database after a INSERT or UPDATE sql command?

>dim sql as string = "my sql string here"