Passing Command Line Argument RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am a beginner using Visual Studio Express 2010 to create a small console app to use as a utility accompanying another primary app that can pass a command line to the utility. I would like to set it up so that the utility will not run independently but only run and load its only form (Form1) if it is launched by the primary app using a "/run" command line parameter. (I can set up the primary app to launch and pass a command line parameter. I need help with the utility's code.)

The utility already has some VB code, so I need to figure out what code to add to receive and act on the " /run" command line and even more challenging for me, where to place this new code so it works.

pseudo-code:

initial event to read the command line, then if it is " /run" load Form1, else do not open and run utility app.

Something like that.

Any help appreciated.

Regards,

Thursday, December 15, 2011 1:15 PM

Answers

• Thanks for your continued help. I'm making some progress.

OK, I think I found the problem and solved it. There was also a timer repainting the Form, so if I place the code to check the command arg in the timer event that calls the repaint function, it works. If "run" is present, then all runs OK and repaints, if not, a blank (un-repainted) form.

About as good as I can do for now. Maybe I can refine this as I learn more.

Much thanks.

• Edited by saratogacoach Thursday, December 15, 2011 4:58 PM
    • Marked as answer by saratogacoach Thursday, December 15, 2011 4:59 PM
    Thursday, December 15, 2011 4:01 PM

All replies

• See http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/z2d603cy%28v=VS.90%29.aspx.  That should get you started.
    Serial Port      Random       Check Internet Connection      Microsoft® Community Contributor 2011
    "Those who use Application.DoEvents() have no idea what it does and those who know what it does never use it." JohnWein
    Thursday, December 15, 2011 1:36 PM
  • Hi,