Toolbox components RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to Visual Studio 2005 and to C#. I'm looking for a reference, preferably a book, that gives examples and describes the various components from the Toolbox. A little guidance and a nudge in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.
    Friday, January 27, 2006 6:08 PM

Answers

• I'm not trying to be funny or offensive so please don't take it this way. Have you tried looking in the MSDN library? If you are using a full (non-express) version of visual studio, it should be on one of the discs in the Box.

Also, be sure to register your Visual Studio, one of the benefits is a book that gives a walkthrough of VS2005. The express editions --VB, and C# at least-- get a book that introduces you to those languages in specific.

I'd highly recommend starting off with downloading the C#2005 express edition, registering for benefits, getting the book and working through it. The express edition is targetted toward learning the basics and combined with the book provide a great start for learning.

Friday, January 27, 2006 6:41 PM

All replies

• I'm not trying to be funny or offensive so please don't take it this way. Have you tried looking in the MSDN library? If you are using a full (non-express) version of visual studio, it should be on one of the discs in the Box.

Also, be sure to register your Visual Studio, one of the benefits is a book that gives a walkthrough of VS2005. The express editions --VB, and C# at least-- get a book that introduces you to those languages in specific.

I'd highly recommend starting off with downloading the C#2005 express edition, registering for benefits, getting the book and working through it. The express edition is targetted toward learning the basics and combined with the book provide a great start for learning.

Friday, January 27, 2006 6:41 PM