none
Errors entering product key for ICE RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am trying to enter a product key for WES8 Standard into ICE and get the following message:

Error validating the product key.

Details: The provided configuration file has an invalid format.

The log file shows the following exception messages:

10:26 AM :
    10:26 AM : Error validating the product key.
    10:26 AM : System.ArgumentException: The provided configuration file has an invalid format.
       at Microsoft.Embedded.PidGenXInterop.ValidateProductKey(String sKey)
       at Microsoft.Embedded.LicenseValidator.UpdateProductLicense(String productKey)
       at Microsoft.Embedded.PKDForm.okButton_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)

Can someone confirm if this is an issue with the actual key or the config file format? It loos like the latter to me given the exception raised.

This is my first time using WES toolkit so excuse my ignorance if this is a stupid question! I spoke to our IT admin in work and can see that historically whatever MS package the company purchase has a separate product key for WES 7 toolkit for example. This time round the MS bundle deal the company are on doesn't seem to have a separate WES 8 Toolkit licence.

I am trying to understand if we need to buy another licence or there is some issue with registering the WES 8 Standard product key.

Thanks,

Matt

• Edited by MTP_PDS Wednesday, March 2, 2016 10:03 PM
    Wednesday, March 2, 2016 9:57 PM

All replies

• With WES7, some were confused about the key that comes in the WES7 box as the run time key. The key in the box was only for installing the tools. For WES8, there is a toolkit key, but you must run ICE with elevated privileges for the key to stick. The key is a 5x5 alpha numeric value and it must be entered with the dashes.