Migrating plugins from QuickTime to Media Foundation? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Everyone..

I have been a long-time QuickTime developer on the Mac. I would like to expand my market into Windows 7. Is there any documentation on building plugins for Media Foundation?

I want to learn how to create the following functionality:

- Create the ability to read a custom (non-MOV) container format.
    - I need to also create a decompression plugin, to decompress the container's payload. Preferably into a 16-bit RGBA (or higher) pixel format. Direct access to the GPU using GLSL would be ideal!
    - It would help to have the ability to write files, as well.

Where can one go, to start to puzzle out what I need to do?

Thanks!

bob.
    www.gluetools.com

Wednesday, June 29, 2011 2:56 PM

All replies

• How about use some open source code?

For the Video format, you could learn some from this Aneesoft, to converting the videos easily
    www.aneesoft.com

Tuesday, July 5, 2011 9:32 AM
  • To read a new container format, you need a media source.  See Creating a Custom Media Source.

To implement a codec, you need a media foundation transform.  See Writing a Custom MFT.  MF does not provide any GLSL functionality, but there is no reason why you cannot call into GLSL functionality from your MFT.  Generally GPU access is supported through DXVA in Media Foundation, though if it is not a common codec there probably is not DXVA functionality implemented in graphics cards to support DXVA for that format.

Media Foundation natively supports writing ASF (WMV, WMA) and MPEG4 files.  If you want to support another container format -- for example, the container you are implementing a source for, you need a media sink.  See Media Sinks.

Regular (non-asynchronous) MFTs are probably the easiest of the three to implement, so implementing the MFT would be a good place to get your feet wet.

Monday, August 1, 2011 10:01 PM
  • Hi Matt,