Webpage with check against Active Directory RRS feed

• Question

• User-240601160 posted

Hi all ASP Gurus!

I am quite new to ASP and ASP.NET, I have my experience with PHP, but now I am in need to also get to figure out ASP and ASP.NET.

What do I want to accomplish? (The QUESTION)

I have a webpage that I want to communicate with three different domains (Active Directory), lets call them DomainA, DomainB and DomainC. On this webpage, I would like to performe a query against all the three domains to se if I get a hit. By hit I mean if there exists a UserAccount. There are two criterias that has to go through the search, first one is to look for a UserID (ie e456784) and after that to search if an e-mail address exists in those three domains (ie myname@domain.com).

Now, how do I code a script that performes this?

Anyone who can assist me with code or perhaps a webpage for reference!

Thanks in advance!

Sincerely,

Andreas

Wednesday, July 4, 2007 4:22 AM

All replies

• User-351429265 posted

Hi Andreas,

you have to use Directory Services classes in .NET. You can get some good starting pointers in the following links.

http://www.codeproject.com/aspnet/adsi2.asp

http://www.codeproject.com/dotnet/QueryADwithDotNet.asp

Hope it helps!!!!

Bhaskar

Wednesday, July 4, 2007 4:55 AM
  • User-240601160 posted

Hi Andreas,

you have to use Directory Services classes in .NET. You can get some good starting pointers in the following links.

http://www.codeproject.com/aspnet/adsi2.asp

http://www.codeproject.com/dotnet/QueryADwithDotNet.asp

Hope it helps!!!!

Bhaskar

I thank you so much for your reply, but it didn't make too much sense for me. Remember, I am very novice on ASP and .NET. Perhaps you got a link to a great "get started" and reference page so I know what predefined functions to be able to call. Are there big differences between ASP and PHP?

Again, thank you for your time to answer!

Sincerely,

Andreas

Wednesday, July 4, 2007 7:28 AM