Solution Architecture Layering RRS feed

• Question

• I'm now a developer in a team working on a new system being built and I have questions regarding the proposed architecture. Some of the proposed ideas seem counter intuitive to the technologies that are out there. So here goes.

My understanding of a typical web based system using dependency injection goes like this. DataInterface, DataLogic, BusinessInterface, BusinessLogic, DomainModels (Persistence Model), ViewModels and for argument sake a MVC web project. Configure UnityDI in your MVC project to say what interfaces and their implementations are being used. In this instance all your DLLs are part of the entire web solution and run in a single web server. 

Another alternative is to use WCF and configure DI for your business and data layers. Then have an MVC project that has a service reference to your WCF. I'm purposefully mentioning WCF (SOAP) as opposed to REST services. When creating a service reference to a WCF this must presumably defeat the purpose of having loosely coupled code? Anyway, in principle I don't mind this idea as it separates the processing load of the web project from the business logic, assuming the WCF is hosted somewhere else.