Try...Catch Exceptions not working with my program RRS feed

• Question

• I'm getting so frustrated. I'm new to Visual Studio 2005 and to Visual Basic. I had to create a program that you could put a number in TextBox1 and a number in TextBox2 and depending on which formula you want to use either the Pythagorean Theorum or the Cylinder Volume formula (by selecting a RadioButton) it will give you the results. Well I got the results working so that I could put the numbers in and the results would be accurate.

Then the next step was to develop try...catch exceptions to handle any error that can be typed by the user. Including but not limited to, overflow exceptions, type mismatch, and division by zero, and an appropriate message needs to display with the error. Well since I already had the equations working right I added how I thought the Try...Catch would be done and then I ran the Debug and I input a letter and the right error message popped up. Sounds good right?

Well I ran it again and put numbers into the appropriate Text Boxes, Hit Calculate, and nothing happened. My dilemma is that if I have the Try...Catch exception in there, only the error messages work correctly and not the calculations that should work. If I don't have the Try...Catch exception in there the calculations work correctly. For example, say I'm trying to get the answer to the Pythagorean Theorum (a^2 + b^2 = c^2) and I put 1 in box 1 and 1 in box 2 (and I don't have the Try...Catch exceptions in the code) I will select Calculate and the correct answer of 4 (2^2) will show up in the Results box. But if I put the Try...Catch exception in there when I hit Calculate it doesn't calculate unless I put something in there that will cause an error to pop up like if I put &#*& in box 1 it will cause the mismatch error to pop up, but if I clear the boxes and put a 1 in box 1 and a 1 in box 2 and hit calculate nothing happens.