Critical Question RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I am new to MRS and just need a quick and short answer to these Qs:

1) Am I able to have more than one robot in MRS? Both in the simulation and the real world,

2) Am I able to add a sensor or omit a sensor?

3) Am I able to change the code for my robot?

4) Can I open MRS for other program like visual studio?

Any suggestion will be very much appreciated.

Thank you,

Narges

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 4:24 PM

Answers

• The good news is that the answer is yes to all of your questions above.  However, there are certain caveats.  Namely, RDS is not a replacement for the firmware on your robot.  Rather, it is the brains that drives the rest of the robot.

You will want to first run through the various samples/tutorials available both with the release and online in CodePlex:  http://mrdssamples.codeplex.com/

• Marked as answer by balouchestani Tuesday, May 25, 2010 8:06 PM
    Tuesday, May 25, 2010 6:33 PM

All replies

• The good news is that the answer is yes to all of your questions above.  However, there are certain caveats.  Namely, RDS is not a replacement for the firmware on your robot.  Rather, it is the brains that drives the rest of the robot.

You will want to first run through the various samples/tutorials available both with the release and online in CodePlex:  http://mrdssamples.codeplex.com/

• Marked as answer by balouchestani Tuesday, May 25, 2010 8:06 PM
    Tuesday, May 25, 2010 6:33 PM
  • Thank you luke,

The answer was complete, I appreciate your help. But could you please explain what you mean by this sentence:

"RDS in not a replacement for the firmware on your robot...”

I am currently working on a project named "Design of a Modular and Reconfigurable Mars Exploration kit".           I am researching if I should write my own software or rely on Microsoft robotic studio. Basically what I asked was the main concerns for me.