none
My Documents folder

Question

• I am a beginner programmer, who downloaded last week MS Visual Studio 2015 - the community version. I noticed that every time I start Visual Studio to learn programming, it saves tons of files in My Documents folder. Just starting the program creates and saves 24 files in My Documents folder - then every time I do something, it creates new files. In only 4 days, Visual Studio created something like 300 or 400 files which have used up nearly 2 GB's on my Hard Drive. 

Worse still, 100's of files were saved in my Documents folder that were dated from several months back even though I download VS just last week!! Because these files dates back several months, they are not saved just on the top of the list in My Document folder, but littered all over the place in that folder. So I cannot just select them all to delete without accidentally deleting some of my other files too. 

What is going on? This cannot be right. What can I do to fix this? 

Thanks!

Saturday, May 07, 2016 1:13 AM

All replies

• Hi,

I will try to tell you my view on this topic:

1. The choosen path

Visual Studio needs an area to save files that you decided to download or create. Because Visual Studio can be used without administrative rights, Microsoft choosed a directory where the user has write access to.

So for such a topic, only 2 places are common:
    a) Documents folder - that is the location where files created by the user should be safed
    b) Application Data folder - that is for settings and stuff that the application needs.

There are arguments, why some stuff should not belong into documents (e.g. downloaded templates), but I also see some good reasons to do it exactly that way e.g.
    - keeping files together
    - Developers also have their own created templates - so there must be a place for templates inside documents. But having 2 different places could confuse people ...

2. The files itself