none
Excel 2013 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have the following scenario:

1. a user creates a workbook and edits it using the browser version of Excel 2013 (after he logs in his office365 or sky drive account).

2. the workbook is connected to an external datasource different than SharePoint. The datasource has to be exposed to Excel through a Restfull service.

3. when the user clicks Save, the data from Excel is saved to the external data source through the restfull service.

I'm new to Office365/SkyDrive/Cloud and my question is, is it possible to implement this scenario? If yes could somebody give me some implementation details?

Thanks in advance,Iuliu.

Monday, September 24, 2012 2:06 PM

Answers

• Hi, Luliu

You can accomplish your scenario with a content app for Excel as well.

To implement this app, you would need to write a normal web service that can read and write to your SQL Azure database.

Then, using HTML, JavaScript, and the JavaScript APIs for Office, you can write a web page to consume your web service and write the data to excel, possibly as a table (the Document.setSelectedDataAsync method would be appropriate). After insertion, you can bind to the table (Bindings.addFromSelectionAsync), catch any Binding.dataChanged events, and read the changes (Binding.getDataAsync).

Let me know if you have questions!

-Michael

Thursday, October 11, 2012 12:54 AM

All replies

• Hi luliu,

Thanks for posting in the MSDN Forum.

1. a user creates a workbook and edits it using the browser version of Excel 2013 (after he logs in his office365 or sky drive account).

What's mean of browser version? Do you want to open it in skydrive?

2. the workbook is connected to an external datasource different than SharePoint. The datasource has to be exposed to Excel through a Restfull service.

Would your please clarify it more clearly? Which kind of data source you will use? A xml based data source? a Microsoft Sql Server link or a Access ADO link?

Have a good day,