none
how use data context on modify record RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to work with linq to sql in visual studio.net 2010. I was wondering if you can show me an example of the following:

1. I would like to find one selected record from a database table using the data context object for linq to sql. (That probably would be using the .first method.)

2. However, what I would like to know is how to modify a record and have the changes apply to the record in the database.

The problem I am having is with the DataContext.SubmitChanges(); is not applying the changes. 

In comparison when you do an insert to the database, you do InsertOnSubmit followed by SubmitChanges(); Also when you do a delete of a record from the database you do deleteOnSubmit followed by SubmitChanges();  However when I just need to do an update to a database record, I am guessing there is a similar a like ChangeonSubmit statement that is followed by submitchanges.

The following is an example of part of the code I have right now:
                 AtDataContext attDataContext = new AtDataContext();
                 Att att = null;
                 att = new Att();
                 att.Att_id = intQuantity;
                 att.Prior_Cutoff_Date = hold_date;          
                 attDataContext.SubmitChanges();

Friday, November 18, 2011 11:11 PM

Answers

• If you have your result already stored in detailsview (which is the same as datagridview?)

then it is something like that to fill the grid

Dim att = From c In AtDataContect.customer Select c

me.datagridview.DataSource = att

' do some changes in the grid

attDataContext.SubmitChanges()

Monday, November 21, 2011 3:50 PM

All replies

• No. You had to query and fetch which row you want to modify. For example:

Get the customer where his id is = to 1000 (I suppose there is only 1 customer)

Dim att = (from c in AtDataContect.customer where c.id = 1000 select c).first

att._id = intQuantity

Saturday, November 19, 2011 2:15 PM