Enter a VB Expression RRS feed

• Question

• I can't express in words the cringe factor that envelopes me when I see the "Enter A VB Expression" mandate when specifying a workflow. I am a C# developer, have been for almost 10 years and I do not like VB, have never liked VB, will never like VB and don't want anything to do with VB. Requiring a .Net developer to mix in elements from a specific language into their application to leverage part of the core .Net framework is a terrible idea and is certainly counter to the entire philosophy of .Net. I developed workflows under the 3.0/3.5 framework. Although the performance of the designer was absolutely awful,

• The technology was/is sound.
    • I was not required to write VB expressions 
    • It wasn't missing something absolutely essential such as, I don't know...A STATE MACHINE ?!?

I realize that there are efforts to add state machines to WF4. That's good news of course but I'm rather mystified, if not agog, as to how WF shipped without this essential component. However what I really want to know is this: Are there efforts being made to eliminate the need for C# developers, who care not one whit for VB, to write VB expressions? If I'm developing a project in C#, i want to see a watermark that says "Enter a C# Expression" !

Friday, June 11, 2010 12:05 PM

Answers

• @NTDeveloper,

I want to assure you that your feedback is heard.  Please follow up with the team by logging a bug on the connect site here.  At this time we aren't commenting much on future plans, but we have been thinking about how we can enable this functionality in a future release.

--matt

Program Manager -- wf designer -- http://blogs.msdn.com/mwinkle
    Monday, June 14, 2010 8:36 PM

All replies

• @NTDeveloper,