none
use GetPixel() with IF construct RRS feed

• Question

• hello,
    I have a question.

I want to graphicsWindow.GetPixel with If. See below,

GraphicsWindow.BrushColor = "Yellow"
    GraphicsWindow.FillRectangle(0,0,100,100)

If(GraphicsWindow.GetPixel(50,50) = "Yellow") Then
    GraphicsWindow.ShowMessage("Yellow!","")
    EndIf

But,This Program dosen't show "Yellow!". So, must write below.

If(GraphicsWindow.GetPixel(50,50) = "#FFFF00") Then
    EndIf

I think that you are more happy if can write colorname in If statement.
    And, Children can understand more more easyly.

--

sorry , I'm a Japanease student.
    because I cannot understand so difference English and my English may be worng.

• Changed type litdevModerator Sunday, August 8, 2010 10:25 AM This is a question
    Sunday, August 8, 2010 8:19 AM

Answers

• The GetPixel returns a string with the colour in hex format "#FFFF00".  It is the strings that are comapred in the If statement.  I guess this is because a colour can be anything from "#000000" to "#FFFFFF", whereas the named colours are only a subset of the possible colours.  I think that is just how it is - it would be possible to write an extension to convert from named colours to their hex equivalent.

I have an extisting extension that does something like this at:

http://cid-92f7df0e57232aba.office.live.com/self.aspx/.Public/SmallBasic/C%5E3%20Extensions/Colours%5E_v0.9.zip

To use the extension, close SmallBasic, then copy the contents of the zip file above to the intallation directory C:\Program Files\Microsoft\Small Basic\lib .  You may need to create the lib directory if it doesn't exist, then restart SmallBasic and the example below should work.  Anyone else using your code will also require the extension dll.

GraphicsWindow.BrushColor = "Yellow" ' OR GraphicsWindow.BrushColor = Colour.Yellow

If (GraphicsWindow.GetPixel(50,50) = Colour.Yellow) Then
    EndIf

• Marked as answer by umisama Wednesday, August 11, 2010 2:57 PM