none
'Cannot add record(s); join key of table 'Current Rentals' not in recordset. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone, I'm really new to Access (been following some tutorials today) but I've ran into a problem when trying to add a new record via my form as I get the error message in the title. Can anyone explain what I have to do because I've searched the problem up and seen the replies but don't really understand what I need to do to fix mine.

In my form I've got the following fields Customer ID, first name, last name, street, city, postcode, contact number, rental id, book id, title, genre, rental price, checkout date, return date, card number and card expiry.

All of the fields work except for rental id, book id, checkout date and return date. All these belong to my Current rentals table.

Appreciate any help as really struggling thanks

Monday, August 10, 2015 8:46 PM

Answers

• So your tables should look like the following:

Customer

CustomerID

NameOf

Phone

Address

AsOf

John Doe

123 Anywhere St

8/10/2015

Jane Smith

124 Anywhere St

8/10/2015

Book

BookID

Title

Author

Published

Moby Dick

Herman Melville

1/1/1851

Adventures of Tom Sawyer

Mark Twain

1/1/1876

Rental

RentalID

CustomerID

BookID

DateRented

DateReturned

8/10/2015

8/10/2015

Per the Rental table, John Doe has rented two books, "Moby Dick," and "Adventures of Tom Sawyer."

Again, the Rental record can't exists without a customer (John Doe - ID 1)  and a book (Moby Dick - ID 1).

Does this help you understand what your problem is?

• Edited by RunningManHD Monday, August 10, 2015 9:41 PM
    • Marked as answer by JamesM94 Monday, August 10, 2015 10:13 PM
    Monday, August 10, 2015 9:30 PM

All replies

• Your Current Rentals table is joined to at least one other table where a related value should exist. 
    This is called referential integrity.  So the other table would be the parent table with a primary key and Current Rentals is related using a foreign key field.