The Crux of Windows Authentication? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm relatively new to SQL Server, so please bear with me. I am currently redesigning an application that uses windows authentication to authenticate to SQL Server 2005. I would like to continue using windows authentication in the new version of the software, given its security advantages and that it will save me having to implement my own account/user/authentication mechanisms in the application. However, there seems to be a gaping hole with windows authentication in that once a user or group is setup with windows authentication on SQL Server, there's no way to prevent them direct/manual access to the database. It's necessary for the users to have permissions to edit the tables, but they must be edited in accordance with the rules of my application. I've searched the forum a bit and have found similar threads to this one, but a lot of them centered around DRM or were focused on a specific application. My questions are these:

- Are my assertions correct?
    - What are some work arounds for this problem? The only one I can think of is to lock down all the tables and only allow editing via stored procedures, which I would really like to avoid.
    - Is anyone aware of plans for Microsoft to address what I view as a shortcoming? For example, some sort of application password feature?

Thanks for any insight.
    Kyle
    Thursday, May 14, 2009 8:16 PM

All replies

• Yes, SQL Server can't differentiate between what you consider an "OK" app (your app) and a non-desirable app (SSMS, Acces or whatever). However, what you want to look into is "application roles" (CREATE APPLICATION ROLE). They were introduced in 7.0, so pretty mature functionality. There are some programming apspectes (like this is per connection), but it isn't unlikely that it can be useful.
    Tibor Karaszi
    Thursday, May 14, 2009 9:05 PM