Compute a property from querying other table RRS feed

• Question

• I have two tables:

EmployeeData(lname,grade,midpoint)

GradeInfo(grade, median)

I would like to make the midpoint property in the EmployeeData table a computed property that displays the median value from the GradeInfo table based on a match on grade between the two tables.  Nothing I have tried is successful thus far.  I am pretty new to LS and thought I could use a LINQ query in c# with this.DataWorkSpace but I cannot seem to get the syntax right.  Is this the proper way to do this or is there something else that would work better?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thursday, December 20, 2012 5:23 AM

Answers

• Hello

There is a lot of guesswork here but this is what I would try. I am assuming that midpoint is a computed column on your EmployeeData Database and that GradeInfo is in the same DataWorkspace.

partial void midpoint_Compute(ref int result)
    {

int intTmp = 0; //Default value if nothing is found

//the next line creates a variable of type GradeInfo table and finds the correct record
    	GradeInfoes getMedian = (from items in this.DataWorkspace.ApplicationData.GradeInfo
    				where items.grade == this.grade
    				select items).FirstOrDefault();

if(getMedian != null){	//If a record is found then set the temporary variable to the value of the median.
    		intTmp = getMedian.median;
    	}

result = intTmp;
    }

If this is not the exact answer it should help you on your way :)

Merry Christmas

If you found this post helpful, please mark it as helpful. If by some chance I answered the question, please mark the question as answered. That way you will help more people like me :)

• Proposed as answer by Yann DuranModerator Friday, December 21, 2012 2:34 AM
    • Marked as answer by tmhamlin Friday, December 21, 2012 1:43 PM
    Thursday, December 20, 2012 4:25 PM

All replies

• Hello