none
VB.NET rotate a string a given number of times RRS feed

• Question

• Create another sub/function that will rotate a string a given number of times. Each time you rotate it, the first character is removed and put onto the back. The inputs to the sub/function would be the starting string and the number of rotations. It needs to return the rotated string. Once returned display the output on the form.

Examples    Starting with Football

1 rotation = ootballf

2 rotations = otballfo

3 rotations = tballfoo

Any Help is appreciated. Im just a student struggling to get through the code so bear with me please.

Thursday, November 15, 2018 5:00 PM

All replies

• Hi

For school work, your first contact for assistance aught to be your teacher.

However, if you post your code which of course you have ready at hand, along with questions/issues/problems, I am sure we can help.

Regards Les, Livingston, Scotland

• Edited by leshay Thursday, November 15, 2018 5:51 PM
    Thursday, November 15, 2018 5:50 PM
  • Hello !

Thank you for your kind words of wisdom & suggestions however I have already contacted my teacher but have not received a reply back, hence why I am here. Im not looking for the complete code but for guidance on how to reach the solution. Would this require a "Do While...Loop" ?

Thursday, November 15, 2018 6:14 PM
  • Hi

Possible but not necessarily. I would tend to use a For.... Next loop for this (assuming you want to do X number of rotations for each operation).

Your main concern would probably be how to take one letter off  the beginning and sticking it onto the end.

Hint: one way is to use the SubString method.

Give it a try and post your code here (in a code block - from the toolbar)

Regards Les, Livingston, Scotland

• Edited by leshay Thursday, November 15, 2018 6:24 PM
    Thursday, November 15, 2018 6:20 PM