What's involved with switching an SQL server to a new domain? Holds Citrix XenDesktop database RRS feed

• General discussion

• We had built out a new domain, and joined an SQL server to it, then created a Citrix XenDesktop database on it. 

A decision was made to abandon this new domain, so I must join this server to the old, existing domain.  Of course, joining the Windows server itself to a new domain is straightforward, but how that affects SQL or databases on it I have no idea.

Of course I will check with Citrix on any vendor-specific steps, but I expect they'll tell me to call Microsoft.  I assume most things will need done on the SQL server itself.  I've never done this before so would need a very detailed step-by-step walkthrough on it.  XenDesktop environment is virtual machines, so doing this properly is *very* critical.

All I can find from Microsoft is this weird article, which to me doesn't seem to give a step by step how-to:   

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/wiki/contents/articles/24960.migrating-sql-server-to-new-domain.aspx

• Edited by dilbert2015 Thursday, February 11, 2016 9:51 PM
    Thursday, February 11, 2016 4:38 PM

All replies

• Changing the domain name does not effect the SQL Server Service.  If you are using Windows authentication, then you need to change all the logins associated with the old domain to the new domain.

Thursday, February 11, 2016 8:18 PM
  • So are you saying that it should be as easy as just joining the server itself (OS) to the other domain ??    SQL doesn't embed the domain name anywhere in its files/reg entries, etc?

As far as logins, I'm sure I took the default during installation, which is "Windows Auth", is it not ? When I login via Mngmt Studio, it's set to Windows Auth.   As well as, during my Citrix delivery controller install, before it created the database it warned that "Windows Auth is required; you can't authenticate if you configured an explicit username and password on the SQL server".