Entity Framwork and "The application called an interface that was marshalled for a different thread. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8001010E (RPC_E_WRONG_THREAD)) RRS feed

• Question

• I have a Windows Store app where I am using Entity Framework to access a SQL database.  I have an ItemsControl that I bind to a child entity of my main entity:

private async void navigationHelper_LoadState(object sender, LoadStateEventArgs e)
            {
                String EstID = (string)e.NavigationParameter;

//Estimate Est;

Est = await DispatchDataSource.GetEstimate(EstID);
                ItemsGrid.ItemsSource = Est.EstimateCrates;
    }

All is well if you modify the crates that are already there.  If you click the add button, the function is:

private void AddButton_Click(object sender, RoutedEventArgs e)
            {
                EstimateCrate c = new EstimateCrate();
                c.ID = Guid.NewGuid();
                Est.EstimateCrates.Add(c);
                TopAppBar.IsOpen = false;
            }

When you hit the save button, you get the error:

"The application called an interface that was marshalled for a different thread. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8001010E (RPC_E_WRONG_THREAD))"

The code for the save button is as follows:

private async void SaveButton_Click(object sender, RoutedEventArgs e)
            {
                ItemsGrid.ItemsSource = null;
                await SaveCrates();
            }

I set ItemsGrid (it is an ItemsControl object) Itemsource to null to release the binding on the Entities.  I save the changes, then attach it back.  This works except when you add a new EstimateCrate.  The point that you get the error is on the OnPropertyChanged for EstimateCrate entity for the ID property.  What is puzzling to me is that I had set the ID property back when I created the new crate.  Seems like it might be creating it again.  In any case, it seems to think that something on the UI thread has OnPropertyChanged still hooked.