none
Error in WCF, not sure what it means... RRS feed

• Question

• Hi...

I am quite new to WCF work and finding it well, frustrating.  Specifically, I have to move some data from a WCF client-side Lib, to a Web Service, server side lib.  When I first started engineering this I wanted to use a DataTable, but when I started reviewing web posts about this it was astonishing - half of them said "No, you cant use a DataTable" and the other half said "Yes, you can use a Data Table".  Long story short, we finally dumped the Data Table idea and are now trying to use a Collection.  This works just as well as any Data Table and I found a Microsoft post that said "No problem - Collections are fully supported."  Well, if they are I don't see how as I continually get this error each time I build...

To be XML serializable, types which inherit from ICollection must have an implementation of Add(System.Object) at all levels of their inheritance hierarchy. Microsoft.VisualBasic.Collection does not implement Add(System.Object).

Put simply, what the heck does that mean???  "At all levels"???  Levels of what??? 

I have been scoping the web for a couple days now trying to decipher what this means, and what do I do to take care of it.  I thought of adding a Data Contract to address this, but since I cannot build the service, I have no assembly to use SVCUTIL against.

It almost seems as though I have created the perfect storm - Can anyone give me some advice on how I can fix this problem? And if the Collection type is "supported", as the Microsoft documentation says it is, why am I running into this since a collection already has an Add function???

This is totally confusing - can anyone shed some light for me?  Thanks!

Wednesday, July 10, 2013 3:28 PM

Answers