none
Searching a database RRS feed

• Question

• I have created a win form with c# that just has a details view for 10 fields in a database.  I need to be able to search this database with any of the fields.

Is there a tutorial that someone knows about that I can view.  I'm fairly new to this.

Thanks,

Dylan

Wednesday, November 7, 2007 2:02 PM

Answers

• Ok, understand what you want now.  Not sure if there is some pre-fabricated pattern out there for this.  We used to call this "Query By Form" (QBF) or "Query By Example" (QBE) back in the old days of com sci classes, not sure what they call it now.

Microsoft Access now has this built into the product, it's pretty cool.  Zero lines of code and it works.  In .NET you have to roll up your sleeves and write a bit of code I suspect.

What I would do is write a generic solution.  Write some code to scan all controls on the form and read the tag property of the control.  In the tag property I would put some info like field name, maybe a datatype hint.  Then I would build a parameterized query based on this information, create a dataset and forward the dataset to the new form which would bind to it.

You could create the dataset bound form using the Wizard, it will automatically do this for you.

Hmmm, better yet you could copy what Access does, it might actually be simpler. 

Create a data bound form using the wizard.  Then in form open don't populate the dataset, instead create an empty one and bind it.  Let the user type n stuff (it will go into the dataset) then when they click search, you call some code that uses the values in the dataset to filter the data.

In general if you are just getting started look around for tutorials in QFE of QBE for .NET I'm sure there is something out there.

Sunday, November 11, 2007 10:36 PM

All replies

• anyone??

Thursday, November 8, 2007 5:02 PM
  • Hi,

Exactly I dont know what you want , but I think DataView class will help in your task

Friday, November 9, 2007 11:38 AM