Extending the Metro design language beyond the current "App" model?

General discussion

• I have a deep appreciation for the ideas behind the Metro Design Language. I think it shows great promise for moving beyond the current limitations of the iconographic systems prevalent today. The use of typography and clean layout to provide information at a glance without the unnecessary clutter of modern OSes fits the way my mind works. However, I don't see how Microsoft intends to extend Metro beyond the current full screen single-tasking Metro App model demonstrated in the developer preview.

The nature of my work, I'm a network engineer by day, requires me to run and monitor a number of applications, both web and local, simultaneously. I usually have multiple browsers open with multiple windows with multiple tabs, a number of SSH sessions, a suite of productivity tools, excel, word, etc., all open and visible. My biggest problem is screen real-estate. I monitor the network and log flows with my peripheral vision while I work in the productivity suite, switching focus as tasks require, but leaving as much visible as possible.

How will the Metro design language be expanded to accommodate my kind of work flow? How will it translate to true multitasking, not task-switching, use with 10, 12, or more application spaces visible simultaneously across multiple displays? Will the WinRT APIs be extended or will my usage pattern be relegated to second class citizenship?

I've been around this business long enough to see multiple windowing systems come and go. I've seen everything from Ivan Sutherland's Mother of All Demos - on tape not in person, I'm not _that_ old, through Sun's NeWS, through every version of DOS multitasker, every version of Windows, and the current crop of attempts to move Linux beyond X Window. I think that Metro is the most promising approach I've seen in years, but I fear it may be still-born if it is limited to the current Metro App model.