none
C# attribute parameter type: does it allow another Attribute?

Question

• Hi,

I am a developer interested in working with C#. The feature I'm interested in is Attribute (called annotation in Java).

My question is: Does attribute parameter type support the use of another Attribute?

In Section 17.1.3 of the C# language specification, it states the followings:

"...

The types of positional and named parameters for an attribute class are limited to the attribute parameter types, which are:

• One of the following types: bool, byte, char, double, float, int, long, sbyte, short, string, uint, ulong, ushort.
    • The type object.
    • The type System.Type.
    • An enum type, provided it has public accessibility and the types in which it is nested (if any) also have public accessibility (§17.2).
    • Single-dimensional arrays of the above types.

A constructor argument or public field which does not have one of these types, cannot be used as a positional or named parameter in an attribute specification.

..."

I am curious whether the second type (type object) also means that Attribute can be used. Because, as far as I know Object is the supertype of all referenced types (?).

To illustrate, I want to achieve something like the following:

[ MyAttribute( "abc", p1="...", p2=[ AnotherAttribute("123") ] ) ]

class MyClass {  ... }

where: MyAttribute and AnotherAttribute are attributes, and parameter MyAttribute.p2 is declared with the type AnotherAttribute.

Thank you very much in advance for your response.

Tuesday, May 2, 2017 1:45 AM

All replies

• There's another piece of documentation that actually specifies this in more detail (https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa288454(v=vs.71).aspx):

Attribute parameters are restricted to constant values of the following types:
    • Simple types (bool, byte, char, short, int, long, float, and double)
    • string
    • System.Type
    • enums