grouping columns into class to pass into FieldTemplate sporadic problem RRS feed

• Question

• User-1266811045 posted

Hi All,

I'm new to Dynamic Data and am trying something a little strange. I wrote a custom FieldTemplate that expects a class data type. The class is just a grouping of the actual entity columns - I copy the columns into the class and return the instance in the class getter. In the class setter I update the actual columns with the new values. That's it. This works very well most of the time. However sometimes when I go to update, my class is updated to  the correct values - but the original properties are not. I stepped through with the debugger and when it does not work I can see the original properties getting set to the correct values and then immediately reset to something else. Again, this happens only sometimes. Sometimes it works properly. Any ideas as to what's going on?

Thanks much.

Tuesday, November 4, 2008 5:06 PM

Answers

All replies

• User-330204900 posted

I think you are doing something simlar to what I did as an example for an other post have a look at this: Dynamic Data Compound Column

If it's not what you are doing let me know [:D]

Wednesday, November 5, 2008 9:25 AM
  • User-1266811045 posted

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the reply. I am doing almost exactly what you did in the Compound Column. My class does not contain anything too complicated - just a couple of strings and bools and a date. Yet my db table, which is a large table with foreign keys, etc,  is still not getting updated correctly every now and then.

When I update a plain column I see that the column setter gets hit 3 times - 1. change null to new value, 2. change null to old value, 3. change old value to new value. Looks like two instances of my table entity got created. Makes sense.