divide annual budget over months RRS feed

• Question

• I'm still learning powerpivot but I haven't been able to find a solution for my problem:

I work with 2 separate tables: 1 for my budget and 1 for my actuals.
    Both tables are exported from my ERP program and combined with powerpivot.
    My actuals are grouped per month (month 01 / month 02 etc...)
    My budget is annual and is uploaded in "month 01". (approx 50k records)

I'd like to divide my annual budget over 12 months. Now I see my full budget in january, and i see no budget in the other 11 months. What i'd like to see: when filtered on june it should show 1/12th of the budget. When filtered on January to June I want to see 6/12 of my budget etc...

The only option I see is to copy my budget 12x, divide each record by 12 and change the period 12x. But this means 600K lines, and a lot of manual work each time I want to import a new budget into powerpivot.

Does someone have an idea how to solve my problem?

Thursday, January 26, 2017 9:56 PM

Answers

• Probably, in your case, you have budget values for multiple years, departments, products perhaps, etcetera. Using ALL(Budget) throws away all filters which is not what you want.

The challenge here is to provide a budget result when you e.g. selected the month of June 2017. In this context, you'll have to find the year's budget which is in January, and multiply that with the fraction of the year you're looking at (e.g. 1/12). I assume you have a proper Calendar or Date table in your model; if not, do add one (this is pretty basic and you'll find instructions how to do this everywhere). To find the proper budget value, you'll have to remove the month filter:

CALCULATE(SUM(Budget[Budget]), ALL(Calendar[Month]))

this computes the budget for the whole year, which equals the January amount in your case.