Geography Data - How to add a new SRID RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all Geo Experts,

I am a newbie to SQL Server spatial data processing and I have 2 side by side questions:

I would like to add a new SRID/EPSG definition to SQL Server. I have the EPSG definition which look like this:

PROJCS["DHDN / Gauss-Kruger zone 3", GEOGCS["DHDN", DATUM["Deutsches_Hauptdreiecksnetz", SPHEROID["Bessel 1841",6377397.155,299.1528128, AUTHORITY["EPSG","7004"]], AUTHORITY["EPSG","6314"]], PRIMEM["Greenwich",0, AUTHORITY["EPSG","8901"]], UNIT["degree",0.01745329251994328, AUTHORITY["EPSG","9122"]], AUTHORITY["EPSG","4314"]], UNIT["metre",1, AUTHORITY["EPSG","9001"]], PROJECTION["Transverse_Mercator"], PARAMETER["latitude_of_origin",0], PARAMETER["central_meridian",9], PARAMETER["scale_factor",1], PARAMETER["false_easting",3500000], PARAMETER["false_northing",0], AUTHORITY["EPSG","31467"], AXIS["Y",EAST], AXIS["X",NORTH]]

My questions:

1. Is it possible to add a EPSG definition as a new SRID to SQL Server?

2. Is there a function which I could use to convert geographical objects from one SRID to another?

TIA so much.

Regards Jörg

• Moved by Olaf HelperMVP Wednesday, October 19, 2016 1:55 PM Moved from "Database Engine" to a more related forum for a better response
    • Edited by Jörg Debus Saturday, November 26, 2016 1:46 PM
    Wednesday, October 19, 2016 1:42 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hello Jörg,

in SQL Server spatial data is implemented as a CLR assembly, therefore you can not add customer defined SRID.

Olaf Helper

[ Blog] [ Xing] [ MVP]

Wednesday, October 19, 2016 4:36 PM