How to use evr custom presenter in side MF RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to media foundation. I need to render a video onto a directx surface. So I need to use EVR custom presenter, but I dont find any exmaple to use it inside media foundation. There is one from a old example "MFPlayer" from windows SDK, but it does not exist any more in current windows SDK, I dont know if I should still use it and when I ran it, it has runtime error. There is a new MFPlayer example, but the document said IMFPMediaPlayer wont be valid in the future version of windows, and people should use MediaSession. But I dont find any exmaple to show me how to use it. Can any one give me some hint to the right direction. Thank you very much.
    color your life
    Thursday, February 17, 2011 12:26 PM

Answers

• Hi, I worked a little more on it.

1. I am using media session example code from 

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff728866(v=vs.85).aspx

2. And put EVRCustomPresenter inside the same project, and add IMFActivate interface to EVRCustomPresenter and imeplement it. There are a lots of functions from IMFAttribute. anyway.

Then

3. I add my custom presenter into EVR by following code into function CreateMediaSinkActivate(). 

hr = MFCreateVideoRendererActivate(hVideoWindow, &pActivate);
    		IMFVideoPresenter* presenter;
    		EVRCustomPresenter::CreateInstance(NULL, __uuidof(IMFVideoPresenter), (void**)&presenter);
    		CComPtr<IUnknown> unk(presenter);
    		hr = pActivate->SetUnknown(MF_ACTIVATE_CUSTOM_VIDEO_PRESENTER_ACTIVATE, unk);

When I run the program, there is no runtime error or anyother returned error code. But custom presenter is still not used, it still use its own default presenter. 

Is there any possible reason? Thank you,

There was a runtime error from EVRCustomPresenter::CreateOptimalVideoType() I fixed it by

HRESULT EVRCustomPresenter::CreateOptimalVideoType(IMFMediaType* pProposedType, IMFMediaType **ppOptimalType)
    {
     HRESULT hr
    = S_OK;