Getting input from text boxes into variables RRS feed

• Question

• So I'm just beginning to learn C++ using VS10 express, I just upgraded to VS10Pro (free software for students is awesome!). I've been writing console apps and everything is going fine. I decided to try to make one of my console apps into a windows app. It's pretty simple, it takes a few integers from the user, performs a few calculations on them, then gives a few integers as output. I have successfuly written it as a console app, now I want to try and mae a windows version.

So I've created a form that has a few text boxes for the user to input information, a few text boxes where I want the results displayed, and a button that I would like to use to begin the calculation once it is clicked. I have no idea how to get the user input from the text boxes and get it into the appropriate variables.

I have a class called Property, it stores the name a property, the monthly income from the property, how many units of the proerty are owned, and has the appropriate functions to access and modify member variables. Suppose I have an instance of a Property called House, and the number of units owned is stored in a variable House.itsUnitsOwned. Now I have a from with a textbox called HouseUnitsOwned and I want to get the value in this textbox into the variable House.itsUnitsOwned. In the console version I would get an int from the user, say unitsOwned then assign the value of unitsOwned to House.itsUnitsOwned by House.setUnitsOwned(unitsOwned).

The class is defined in property.h, VC++ created Form1.h for me and I've given it the appearance I want but no functionality, and the main code is in propertyIncome.cpp.

I have looked and cannot find up to date information on how to do this in VC++10 on the web. I figured by trying to write simple windows apps it would help me learn both C++ and windows programming at the same time, and they don't get much simpler than this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.